The University of Southern Queensland (USQ) Toowoomba announced the winners of the annual USQ Alumnus of the Year Awards at the Empire Church Theatre on Friday 17 August. Proud Wakka Wakka and Barkindji woman, and Resident Doctor at Toowoomba Hospital, Dr Anne-Maree Nielsen was awarded the 2018 USQ Outstanding Alumnus of the Year, as well as being named 2018 USQ Indigenous Alumnus of the Year. Inclusion and Diversity Consultant at Westpac Rachel Ranton won Professional Alumnus of the Year, Marketing Director Heidi Dugan won International Alumnus of the Year, Radiation epidemiologist Professor Michael Kimlin won Research and/or Academic Alumnus of the Year, Project Director Dr Jessa Rogers won Young Alumnus of the Year, Nursing Officer Direpang Segosebe won Community Service Alumnus of the Year, and Entrepreneur Hoa Cruickshank won the Alumni Service Award.