Contemporary women’s fiction author Julie Shackman has released her latest novel A Room at the Manor, for all the readers who love Cathy Kelly and Maeve Binchy.

When her Maltese love affair turns sour, Lara McDonald returns to her quiet Scottish hometown of Fairview heart broken, yet determined – instead of looking for another PR position, she decides to follow her dream of baking. She impulsively takes the first job offered and finds herself working for local dragon Kitty Walker in her tea room True Brew.

Lara’s life is full of surprises, however not the least being an unlikely friendship forged with one of Kitty’s elderly customers, the Laird Hugo Carmichael. The Carmichael family has lived at the beautiful Glenlovatt Manor for almost 300 years and, although in need of renovation, Hugo, his son and grandson currently make it their home. There’s something about Lara that Hugo likes, and when Hugo suddenly passes away, Lara is stunned to discover she is mentioned in his will. But not everyone is happy with the old Laird’s faith in Lara. A story of love, family, hope and trust, A Room at the Manor will delight every reader keen to find their place.

Julie Shackman trained as a journalist and studied Media and Communication before turning her hand to women’s fiction. She lives in Scotland with her husband and two teenage sons. When not reading and writing romance, she writes verses and captions for greeting card companies. She is also the author of Rock my World, a heart-warming paranormal romance.

Readers also enjoyed this story about High Country Hero.