Toowoomba Catholic Schools presented its annual Excellence Awards in late October. The awards recognise members of Toowoomba Catholic Schools whose outstanding contribution has assisted staff, students, and their families to experience exemplary places of learning and academic success within a distinctly Catholic environment.

Dr Pat Coughlan, Executive Director: Catholic Schools said, “As is often the case with award programs, one high performing recipient is selected from a list of many worthy, high performing nominees. This year over 140 nominations from across the Diocese were received. In what has been a tumultuous year it is fitting that we had the opportunity, as the year draws to a close, to gather and honour the abundant talent, generosity, and professionalism of the staff that has been on display so publicly this year.”

The Excellence Awards provide Toowoomba Catholic Schools with the opportunity to identify and showcase those staff who model, demonstrate, and live excellence in their roles all day, every day. “No system can rise above the capacity of its staff. We thank all of our finalists and recognise the invaluable contribution they make to moving our system of schools from great to excellent,” said Dr. Coughlan.

The awards covered ten categories across three areas and the final recipients are listed below:

Excellence in Education Support: Teaching and learning support – Anne Woodcroft-Brown – Mater Dei Primary School, Toowoomba

Administration, finance and facilities support: Belinda Hayward – St John’s School, Roma

Volunteer support in a school setting: Belinda Saal – St Stephen’s School, Pittsworth

Excellence in teaching and learning, Early career teacher (less than 3 years of teaching experience): Rebecca Smith – St Patrick’s Primary School, Mitchell

Primary expert teacher: Amanda Thompson – St Joseph’s School, Stanthorpe

Secondary expert teacher: Amanda Wighton – St Joseph’s College, Toowoomba

Professional Learning Community (PLC): St Joseph’s School, Chinchilla

Excellence in leadership, Emerging leader: Eleighta Hannam – St Mary’s College, Toowoomba

Middle leadership: Kerri-Ann Manthey – Holy Name Primary School, Toowoomba

School leadership: Chris Bartlett – Mater Dei Primary School, Toowoomba

Readers also enjoyed our story about the Glennie Drought Angel