Toowoomba Regional Council (TRC) formally appointed the first community representatives of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Advisory Committee on Tuesday 22 January. In August 2018 a motion to establish the committee was made to take another step forward in ensuring Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities are provided with an opportunity to provide advice to Council on the issues affecting our community.

As Chair of the newly established committee, Councillor Geoff McDonald, said this was a significant moment which would help bridge the gap between Council with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities. “This is the first time Council has had a Committee such as this,” he said. “We received a number of worthy applicants and I’m pleased with the nine community members who were endorsed by Council. The members of the Committee will provide a platform for timely and direct information sharing between local Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities and Council. This is an important step for the entire community and I look forward to seeing the positive outcomes that will come from this new group.”

Some of the core functions of the Committee will include the establishment of protocols for working with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities, the development and implementation of the Toowoomba Regional Council Reconciliation Action Plan and the identification of tourism opportunities, which will promote the rich history of the Toowoomba Region’s Aboriginal, and Torres Strait Islander communities.

The community representatives on the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Advisory Committee are as follows: Caitlin Easton, Christine Hicks, Dean McCarthy, Debra-Lee Anderson, Deena Dodd, Joshua Waters, Nikki Spackmann-Robson, Priscilla Holborn and Tim Knox.

Readers also enjoyed this story about an Allora milestone.