Toowoomba and Surat Basin Enterprise (TSBE) has announced the appointment of four new directors to the organisation at its Annual General Meeting, held in Dalby on Thursday 11 October.  The TSBE Chairman Shane Charles announced that Ian Macfarlane AO, Peter Lock, April Cavanagh and Tom McVeigh have joined the board.

Shame said “TSBE is fortunate to have these experienced and respected industry and community leaders joining the board and to have their skills all bent to the task of leading TSBE to continue and increase its positive impact in our region.”

The Chief Executive for the Queensland Resources Council, Ian Macfarlane has more than 14 years experience in both cabinet and shadow ministerial positions, is Australia’s longest serving Federal Resources and Energy Minister and the Coalition’s longest-serving Federal Industry and Innovation Minister. New to Toowoomba Peter Lock relocated from Melbourne a few years ago to take on the position of CEO at Heritage Bank. Peter brings 30 years experience in the financial services industry to the board, has run his own advisory business and has significant senior management experience.

April Cavanagh is the State Manager – Agribusiness for Suncorp Bank, her heart for regional communities and passion for supporting the growth and development of Agribusiness will be an asset for the continued work of TSBE’s Food Leaders Australia initiative. Tom McVeigh is a celebrated local lawyer with 25 years experience in Business and Estate Planning. Owner of Murdoch Lawyers, Mr McVeigh’s extensive business acumen complements his appointment to the board of TSBE.

Shane continues, “The calibre of new board members joining our existing board already populated with qualified and passionate community advocates instils me with great confidence that our region is very well represented and is not going to miss out on the plethora of opportunities headed our way. The best is yet to come for TSBE and this region.”

Readers also enjoyed this story about the Service of two outgoing TSBE board members.