Five new directors have been named to serve on the Jondaryan Woolshed Board following the April Ordinary Meeting. Jondaryan Woolshed Board chair Cr Mike Williams said he was pleased to announce the appointment of Phil Gregory, Amanda Kenafake, Anthony McWatters, Joy Mingay and John Pearson to the Board.

Toowoomba Regional Council has also approved the re-appointment of sitting directors Cr Williams, Cr Geoff McDonald, Nick Hauser (TRC Environment and Community Services General Manager) and Ann-Marie Ryan (TRC Financial Services manager) to the Board. Cr Williams was re-appointed as the Board’s chairman until a new chair is appointed and endorsed by Council before the end of the year.

Cr Williams said the existing Interim Board would continue its ongoing strategic planning for the heritage-listed facility and would progress work on a transition for the new incoming Board members, with a full transition scheduled to occur by 31 December this year. “Council is pleased to welcome the new Board members and wishes them every success in their efforts to build a prosperous future for this remarkable attraction,” Cr Williams said. “The new Board members bring a wealth of experience and a range of skills to guide the immediate future direction and development of the Jondaryan Woolshed facility, which is the largest and oldest operating woolshed of its kind in the southern hemisphere.

These new board members will help retain the links to the region’s history for future generations to experience. “The site is a fabulous working museum which brings the rich traditions and daily working tasks of our pioneers to life for visitors, many of whom have little direct connection to life on the land today,” Cr Williams said.

Readers also enjoyed our socials from Woolshed Easter